Breakfast, Make-ahead

Bircher Muesli

Bircher muesli is one of my favourite breakfasts. Especially at the minute, when there are luscious, fresh, locally-grown berries for sale everywhere, just ready to become the topping for my creamy, oaty breakfast. My favourite has to be strawberries and blueberries/raspberries (which anyone will know if they happen to quickly glance at my Instagram account). I’m a berry addict! Although, I am also partial to a topping of banana or dried figs.

I’ve not had much time to experiment with my breakfasts lately as I’ve been bogged down with preparation for my mid-PhD report/presentation/viva, but this trusty muesli has had my back. It is always there to put a smile on my face and a spring in my step. All I have to do is make sure I remember to prepare the muesli on a Sunday evening (which is super easy) and I am then provided with a quick and nutritious breakfast for the next five days – perfect for the working week, when I don’t really have to the time in the morning to be slaving away over breakfast.

Thankfully, I successfully completed my PhD upgrade, and I’m now looking down the bleak and frightening road that leads me to the end. At least for now my time has freed up a little, and I can concentrate on cooking up some good food to keep me healthy through the tough times ahead! Sometimes it is hard to stay on track, especially after a bad day (or bad week!) in the lab, but I find that lots of pre-made meals, such as this Bircher muesli, makes it a lot easier to shun the foods commonly associated with ’emotional eating’.

I tend to stick with breakfasts that are ‘pre-made’ (maybe I should change that phrase to ‘pre-homemade’?) because they mostly involve a lot of oats. I have a thing for oats, if you hadn’t noticed. The fibre in them is really great for digestive health and cholesterol levels, and they have loads of great minerals, such as manganese, selenium and phosphorus, that we require for numerous different cellular functions.

There’s nothing better that starting your day with this!

This is what you need:

180g whole rolled oats

350ml water

1 tsp cinnamon

50g raisins/mixed dried fruit

40g almonds, chopped

25g coconut flakes

1 apple

1/2 cup Greek yoghurt (not pictured – oops!)

(You can play around with the amounts and types of nuts and dried fruit you use – the ones here I guess are guidelines.)

This is how you make it:

Add the oats, cinnamon, dried fruit and nuts to a large bowl. Add the water, cover in cling film (or put into a tub and seal the lid).

Leave to soak overnight.

In the morning, grate the apple. Mix the grated apple and Greek yoghurt into the oats.

Keep it in the fridge in a covered bowl for the next 5 days! If it separates a little, just give it a stir before you scoop some out into your bowl.

Stay happy,

Alice x

Standard

Leave a Reply

